RODI Woes

jakesweep

Hey folks. I have a brand spankin' new 4 stage RODI setup from Marine Depot. I'm no expert on setting these things up, but I feel like I've done enough research to be informed. I'm having some TDS issues though.

Knowns/Unknowns:

My TDS going in is ~280ppm. I have no pressure gauge. I have 2 different TDS meters spitting out similar readings. My water pressure doesn't seem abnormally lowl, but I do have a booster pump and pressure gauge on the way.

Here are the instructions from MD:

1. Remove DI filter

2. Flush the sediment and carbon filters

3. Install the RO membrane

4. Flush for 30 minutes

5. Install DI filter

6. Cook some water and throw out the first few gallons.

7. Profit!

Problem is I didn't profit. I dumped the first 5-10 gallons then rinsed the container, ran probably 15 gallons of RODI, tested it, and it showed around 220ppm TDS :( My DI resin is all brown, and the TDS of the water coming out of the RO membrane is ~200ppm.

So I did the following:

1. Pulled all the filters

2. Flushed the sediment filter for 5 minutes

3. Flushed the sediment + carbon filter for 5 minutes

4. Emptied all the filter holders and flushed them out

5. Installed the RO membrane

6. Flushed all of them for 2 hours

Checked the TDS right after the RO filter and it was at ~180ppm.

So I called MD about it and they were pretty confused. They told me to run water through it for a few days(!). Seems like a huge waste of water to me. Is that normal? Any ideas? I don't want to run it for 3 days and waste all that water if I don't have to.

Edited by jakesweep